Site icon The Maravi Post

African Development Bank President, ten African Heads of State to be awarded for exceptional contribution to the AFCFTA process

What: AfDB President Dr. Akinwumi A. Adesina and ten African Heads of State to receive an award for contribution to AfCFTA
Who: Dr. Akinwumi Adesina President of the African Development Bank
When: 15 January 2021,  12 :00 – 14 :00 GMT
Where: Virtual

African Development Bank President Akinwumi Adesina and ten African Heads of State and Government will receive awards for their role in the coming into force of  the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA). The event will take place on 15 January 2021, from 12:00 – 14:00 GMT.

AfCFTA, the world’s largest free trade area, has the potential to transform the continent with its potential market of 1.2 billion people and combined GDP of around $3 trillion across the 54-member states of the AU. Trading under AfCFTA commenced on 1 January, 2021.

The award organisers, a number of African private sector organisations in partnership with the African Union Commission, will also honour  two former heads of state, heads of African institutions and other prominent individuals for their ‘exceptional contribution to the AFCFTA process.’

The award ceremony will take place at the AU headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and via Zoom.

Source African Development Bank Group

The Maravi Post has over one billion views since its inception in December of 2009. Viewed in over 100 countries Follow US: Twitter @maravipost Facebook Page : maravipost Instagram: maravipost    
Exit mobile version