By Chisomo Phiri

LILONGWE-(MaraviPost)-In exercise of the powers coffered upon him by Section 94(1) of the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi, President Lazarus Chakwera has appointed 12 initial cabinet Ministers with effect from Wednesday, January 26, 2022.

In his initial Cabinet, it is with a surprise that many Ministers have maintained their Ministerial positions such as Health Minister, Gender Minister, Agriculture Minister, Culture and Tourism Minister, Justice Minister Education Minister, just to mention some.

In a statement, Secretary to the President and Cabinet Zanga-zanga Chikhosi says, the rest of appointees to cabinet will be made soon owing to Chakwera’s simultaneous preoccupation with national emergency.

According to the statement, below is the list of 12 initial Cabinet Ministers:

  1. Lobin C. Lowe, M.P., Minister of Agriculture
  2. Michael Bizwick Usi, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Wildlife
  3. Patricia Annie Kaliati, Minister of Gender, Community Development and Social Welfare
  4. Titus Mvalo, Minister of Justice
  5. Agnes Nyalonje, Minister of Education
  6. Khumbize Kandodo Chiponda, M.P, Minister of Health
  7. Jacob Hara, M.P, Minister of Minister of Transport and Public Works
  8. Blessings Darlo Chinsinga, Minister of Local Government
  9. Vera Kamtukule, Minister of Labour
  10. Abida Sidik Mia, M.P, Minister of Water and Sanitation
  11. Mark Katsonga Phiri, M.P, Minister of Trade and Industry
  12. Samuel Kawale M.P, Minister of Lands

The new cabinet comes barely few days after Chakwera reshuffled his old cabinet.

The Maravi Post has over one billion views since its inception in December of 2009. Viewed in over 100 countries Follow US: Twitter @maravipost Facebook Page : maravipost Instagram: maravipost    
NBS Bank Your Caring Bank