The new Mayor with ousted Chalamanda

Three Malawi main parties, the ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), Malawi Congress Party (MCP) and former ruling People’s Party (PP) have shared power in the Mayor’s elections, Maravi Post has learnt.This follows the official results of the Mayor’s elections held in Mzuzu and Blantyre on Monday after the Malawi Congress Party candidate Desmond Bikoko declared victory in Lilongwe, the capital city of Malawi.

Eyes and eyes of many Malawians were on the Blantyre’s election where DPP candidates challenged the incumbent Mayor Noel Chalamanda of the independent who had mach support from many across the country.

While in Mzuzu the northern city of Malawi it was Yonah Mkandawire of the ruling DPP against William Mkandawire of PP.

In Blantyre, Chalamanda and Lewis Ngalande of DPP were the names of candidates expected to take the seat.

Ironically, it was the name of Wild Ndipo of DPP who was declared the winner with 17 votes seconded by George Chipweye with 8 votes while the giants Ngalande got 3 and his counterparts Chalamanda got 2.

Despite not wasting a lot of its resources in campaign period in the northern city, the former ruling People Party candidate won the seat with landslide while DPP candidate Yonah only got 3 votes out of 16.

This means that the three parties maintain its 2014 tripartite elections’ results where DPP hold the south, MCP the central and PP the north according to some quarters.

Reacting to the development, some political pundits said by looking on the results parties should expect though competition in the 2019 tripartite elections.


NBS Bank Your Caring Bank