As part of its corporate responsibility, Old Mutual—a long-term savings, protection and investment Group which provides life assurance, asset management and unit trusts in the country—sponsors a secondary school Mathematics competition dubbed “Old Mutual Maths Olympiad” as a way of promoting interest in Mathematics among secondary school students in the country.

 Secondary school students across the country sit for a number of Mathematics examination papers aiming at identifying the crème de la crème of Mathematics in the competition. This highly competitive competition is done in partnership with Mzuzu University’s department of Mathematics.  

This year’s (2016) Old Mutual Mathematics Olympiad National Competition drew to a close on Thursday and saw Daniel Mkandawire of Nkhotakota Secondary School emerging as the best student and Mary Mount Catholic Secondary as the best school.

The Maths competition attracted 167 participants from 58 schools across the country representing 18 districts.

Each school was allowed to send a maximum of three participants. Out of the 167 participants, 64 were female and 103 were male.

The competition had three stages. All students took a preliminary exam on Monday, 11th January.  A total of 75 qualified for semi final examinations which were written on Tuesday, 12th January. Out of these, 54 were male and 21 were female.

The top 25 students wrote the final exam on Wednesday, 13th January. 8 females made it into the final against 17 boys. These were drawn from the following secondary schools: Nkhotakota, Dedza, Kasungu, Bishop Mtekateka, Mary Mount Girls, St Mary’s Girls, Chaminade, Salima, Ekwendeni Girls, Mzuzu Govt, Bwaila, St Patricks, Nkhamenya Girls, Euthini, Luwinga  and Karonga CDSS.

After gruelling three examinations, Daniel Mkandawire of Nkhotakota emerged as the best student.

Mkandawire was awarded K70, 000 cash prize together with a scientific calculator.

The rest of students in the final, in order of positions achieved, were: Steven Mayendayenda (Dedza), Waleke Vincent (Bishop Mtekateka), Talithar Mambo (Mary Mount), Tadala Chakhwema (Kasungu), Samuel Kamonyera (Chaminade), Chigomezgo Mweso (Mary Mount), Happy Banda (Kasungu), Tawonga Kamanga (Mzuzu Government), Casten Chikumbutso (Chaminade), Milca Kwenda (St. Mary’s), Synet Maonekedwe (Salima), Christabel Musabayana (St. Mary’s), Moses Kaima (Mzuzu Govt.), Lifa Matemba (St. Patrick’s), Benjamin Ndowera Shaba (Bwaila),  Talandira Tembo (Mary Mount), Temwa Mwaungulu (Ekwendeni Girls), Chisomo Chimwala (St. Patrick’s),  Lucy Katawa (St. Mary’s), Hannah Mngoli (Nkhamenya Girls), Clement Lungu (Euthini), Jimmy Soko (Luwinga), Roosevelt Nyirenda (Karonga CDSS) and Kutemwa Kayira (Euthini).  Each student received a cash prize, a scientific calculator and a certificate.

This year, the Department of Mathematics also ranked the best Mathematics schools.

This was dependent on the performance of their students. The score obtained by a school was the total score obtained by its representatives at all stages of the competition.

The best three schools this year were Mary Mount Catholic Secondary School, St. Mary’s Catholic Secondary School, Kasungu Secondary School, Chaminade Secondary School and Mzuzu Government Secondary School.

The Maravi Post has over one billion views since its inception in December of 2009. Viewed in over 100 countries Follow US: Twitter @maravipost Facebook Page : maravipost Instagram: maravipost