UTM Party President Dr. Saulosi Chilima for thanksgiving rally in Ntcheu

BLANTYRE, (MaraviPost): A presser available to the Maravi Post states MEC has been favored with communication from the UTM withdrawing its endorsement of two candidates in the November 5 byelections in Lilongwe South Constituency and Matenje Ward in Kasungu North West constituency. 

According to the same presser, MEC has also received communication from the two affected candidates advising that they will continue in the race as independent candidates. The candidates are Mr Samson Phinifolo in Matenje Ward and Mr Shadreck Mvula in Lilongwe South Constituency.            

Following these developments, the Commission wishes to advise all registered voters in the two areas and the general public that the affiliation of the contesting candidates has been revised as follows:

Lilongwe South Constituency

Peter Dimba Malawi Congress Party (MCP) M
Julius Chombwe Grecian Mbakuwaku Movement for Development (MMD) M
Frank Namponya Mazizi             Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) M
Patson Kachingwe Mthyoka       Independent M
Samson Phinifolo Independent M

Matenje Ward, Kasungu North West Constituency

Descent Msatero Chipangula             Malawi Congress Party M
Nelson Maseko                     Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) M
Chrifford Joseph Mbewe             Independent M
Shadreck Mvula                Independent M
Vincent Phiri            Mbakuwaku Movement for Development (MMD) M

The Commission is encouraging all registered voters in the two areas to turn out in large numbers on November 5, 2019 to exercise their constitutional right to vote.

NBS Bank Your Caring Bank