Kondwani Nankhumwa and Former President Peter Mutharika – PIC taken before squabbles

BLANTYRE-(MaraviPost)—The Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has fired four members, namely vice president for the South, Kondwani Nankhumwa, secretary general Greselder Jeffrey, treasure general Jappie Mhango and Mulanje legislator Yusuf Nthenda.

Impeccable source indicates that the decision has been made at an executive meeting held today by the DPP top brass in Mangochi at the party’s President Peter Mutharika’s residence.

The party’s decision comes amid divisions that are being propagated by Nankhumwa to achieve his ‘selfish’ interests of leading the party.

The decision puts Nankhumwa at an awkward position in regards to his position as leader of opposition in parliament.

Speaker of Parliament, Catherine Gotani Hara,  today October 2, 2020 announced that Mulanje Central legislator Kondwani Nankhumwa is the Leader of Opposition in Parliament having been satisfied with the procedure in which the opposition Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) lawmakers elected him to the position.

Hara made the announcement before adjourning the House for weekend recess.

On Wednesday, Malawi Parliament reversed the decision by President of Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) Peter Mutharika of appointing Francis Kasaila as new Leader of Opposition replacing Nankhumwa.

Brown Mpinganjira DPP spokesperson communicated to the press that the action taken by DPP legislators in Parliament could best be summarised as flouting of procedures or misquoting of the Constitution.

The Maravi Post has over one billion views since its inception in December of 2009. Viewed in over 100 countries Follow US: Twitter @maravipost Facebook Page : maravipost Instagram: maravipost