DPP Southern region governors posing a photo with Mutharika

MANGOCHI-(MaraviPost)-About 25 opposition Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) southern region governors on Monday, November 1, 2020 refused to accept Joseph Mwanamveka as their leader replacing Kondwani Nankhumwa.

This follows the staged meeting Mwanamveka organised at DPP party leader Peter Mutharika at the lakeshore district in Mangochi.

Inside sources during the meeting told The Maravi Post that Mwanamveka coaxed Mutharika to hold had 25 Governors drawn from all the southern region districts.

“Out of the 25 governors four had already been tipped off about the agenda of the meeting. Chimwemwe Chipungu, a legislator from Thyolo, was the one who advised the four to agree with whatever was to be discussed at the meeting. These four governors were Mr Mazudi from Blantyre Chilomoni,Mr Makata from Phalombe Central,Mr Kaliwo from Chikwawa and Chiswabande from Thyolo and they had to use their own vehicle driven by Chipungu from Blantyre to Mangochi.

“As they were going to Mangochi, Chipungu advised them to give nod to the idea of replacing Hon. Nankhumwa with Hon. Mwanamveka as VP for the south despite the fact that the former was democratically elected at the previous DPP convention,” discloses the source.

The sourced revealed further that the meeting did not end well as governors have refused to accept Mwanamveka as VP for the southern region.

“The governors advised Mutharika that the best way of sorting out the ongoing wrangles in the party is to call for an early convention where people can democratically elect leaders of their choice who are going to guide the party into the next election.

“At the end of the meeting district Governors were given MK100,000 each and they were expected to brief the press on what transpired at the meeting. The writing is on the wall. District governors from the southern region has refused to recognize Mwanamvekha as VP south,” added the source.

Brown Mpinganjira, Mwanamveka, Francis Mphepo, Chipungu were among DPP gurus graced the meeting.

There is power struggle in DPP after losing June 23, 2020 presidential election that witnessed Lazarus Chakwera became Malawi’s sixth head of state under Tonse banner.

NBS Bank Your Caring Bank