Mathanga again?

BLANTYRE-(MaraviPost)-Malawi President Peter Mutharika on Sunday, June 7, 2020 announced new Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) commissioners.

Surprisingly, Mutharika has maintained old commissioners Dr Jean Mathanga and Linda Kunje.

Mathanga has been refusing to step down arguing that he hands were clean on May 21, 2019 polls.

Kunje again into the commission

The two were along with former MEC chair Jane Ansah discredited for mismanaging May 21, 2019 polls until February 3, 2020 nullification of the elections for fresh ones.

Below is Mutharika’s appointment statement.

His Excellency the President, Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by Section 75 of the Constition; as read with Section 4 of the Electoral Commission (Amendment Act of 2018) has appointed new Commissioners of the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) as follows;

  1. Justice Dr Chifundo Kachale – Chairperson
  2. Mr Arthur Nanthuru – Commissioner
  3. Mr Steve Duwa – Commissioner
  4. Dr Jean Mathanga – Commissioner
  5. Ms.Linda Kunje – Commissioner
  6. Dr Anthony Mukumbwa- Commissioner
  7. Mrs Olivia Liwewe – Commissioner

According to the statement signed by Chief Secretary to the Government Lloyd Muhara on Sunday, June 7, 2020 the appointments are with immediate effect.

NBS Bank Your Caring Bank