New MEC Kachale, flanked by his wife Mary, takes the oath.

New MEC Chair Dr Chifundo Kachale and commissioners were sworn in Tuesday by Chief Justice Andrew Nyirenda in Blantyre.

chief Justice Nyirenda advised the commissioners to uphold the constitution when discharging their duties.

The swearing in ceremony was held after President Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika last week appointed the new MEC chair and the commissioners.

Justice Jane Ansah, who chaired MEC, resigned recently while the term of her commissioners expired on June 5.

The new commissioners are Arthur Nanthuru, Steve Duwa, Jean Mathanga, Linda Kunje, Anthony Mukumbwa and Olivia Liwewe.

These newly minted MEC commissioners will oversee the fresh presidential election set for June 23rd

The Maravi Post has over one billion views since its inception in December of 2009. Viewed in over 100 countries Follow US: Twitter @maravipost Facebook Page : maravipost Instagram: maravipost