BLANTYRE(MaraviPost)—The visiting Blantyre based giants Mighty Wanderers have been booted out from the K7 million Be Forward 2014 football bonanza after losing to Epac FC in a thrilling encounter played at Civo Stadium on Friday.

Wanderers, popularly known as ‘Nyerere’ bowed out of the tournament after going down 4-3 in penalty shootouts against ‘Njenjete zaku Lilongwe’.

The two teams played a nil-all draw in regulation time and during the shootouts, Epac converted all the four spot kicks they played but Wanderers’ Cuthbert Sineta and Patrick Gunde saw their penalty kicks well saved by former Bullets goalkeeper Owen Chaima to send their side packing.

The encounter, which had been hyped as a grudge tie following the disagreement between the two teams over defender Tsanzo Dalio, started off at an electric pace with Epac’s Ibrahim Sadick in fine form for the hosts.

Wanderers scored in the second half but the goal was ruled off-side by the referee.

Towards the end of the game both sides tried to open the score sheet but their efforts proved futile as it was 0-0 after the last whistle.

Epac will meet the winner between Silver Strikers and Big Bullets in the final tomorrow.

Penalty takers:

Epac: Tsanzo Dalio, Innocent Tanganyika, Macfaleni Ngwira, Limbani Suwedi scored

Wanderers: Kondwani Lufeyo (scored), Patrick Gunde (saved), Francis Mlimbika (scored), Mike Kaziputa (scored), Cuthbert Sineta (saved).


The Maravi Post has over one billion views since its inception in December of 2009. Viewed in over 100 countries Follow US: Twitter @maravipost Facebook Page : maravipost Instagram: maravipost