BLANTYRE-(MaraviPost)— Former deputy Mayor Wild Ndipo has defeated Noel Chalamanda to claim the seat in a Blantyre City mayoral elections held today 9th January 2017 at Civic Centre in Blantyre.

Chalamanda got 2 votes while Ndipo got 17 votes and other contestants Lous Ngalanda got 3 votes with George Chipwete getting 8 votes.

The new Mayor with ousted Chalamanda

There was a tie for the post of deputy mayor between Joseph Makwinja and Gertrude Chirambo.

In the end Makwinja became victorious claiming 16 votes against Chirambo’s 14.

Ndipo is a member for the ruling Democratic Progressive party (DPP).

Tension and violence nearly broke up when supporters for Ngalande and other candidates almost fought one another until police and authorities intervened.

Meanwhile, people of Blantyre have expressed shock at the loss of mayor Chalamanda, arguing the man deserved another term considering the achievements has made during the period he has served.

Voting was done by councilors and eight Members of Parliament who are Council Members.

In Mzuzu, the erstwhile ruling People`s Party (PP) candidate Councilor William Mkandawire retained the post of Mzuzu Mayor by trouncing governing Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) candidate Yona Mkandawire by 13 votes against a paltry 3.


The Maravi Post has over one billion views since its inception in December of 2009. Viewed in over 100 countries Follow US: Twitter @maravipost Facebook Page : maravipost Instagram: maravipost