Walter Nyamilandu
FAM President Walter Nyamilandu

Walter Nyamilandu incumbent Football Association of Malawi (FAM) President was given a fourth mandate to run football for another four years after beating Wilkins Mijiga and Willy Yabwanya with 27 votes against 7 and 2 votes respectively.
Addressing the media in the aftermath of his victory which came about despite failures of the Malawi National team Flames and local clubs, Walter Nyamilandu said there was nobody better than him in Malawi to take the beautiful game of football forward.


His win like that of Suspended FIFA president Sepp Blatter shows the corruption in football at all levels. Blatter won another term earlier this year despite accusation of bribery and corruption at FIFA.

“This is a sign that the affiliates appreciates what I have done to Malawian football. There was nobody better than me to take our beautiful game of football forward.”
“The legacy had to go on very well and we could’nt handle the presidency to someone who has little knowledge when it comes to running our game,” said Nyamilandu.

The Fact that Walter Nyamilandu can boast after leading a failed organization instead of being humble shows his character and will most likely end up leading Football in  Malawi in wrong direction and most likely to meet the fate of Sepp Blatter forced to leave FAM in shame. Malawians who voted for him deserve what they are getting.

The voting process started in the absence of Mijiga and Yabwanya who withdrew their candidacy following the decision by the electoral committee to go ahead with the polls despite a restraining order from the appeals committee.

The duo have revealed that they will issue a joint statement later today. Below is the list showing how people voted:
1. Walter Nyamilandu-27 votes
2. Wilkins Mijiga-7 votes
3. Willy Yabwanya-2 votes

First Vice President
1. James Mwenda-26 votes
2. Tiya Somba Banda-10 votes

Second Vice President
1. Othaniel Hara-22 votes
2. Pikawo Ngalamira-14 votes

FAM executive members
1. Rashid Mtelera-8 votes
2. Alfred Gunda-8 votes
3. Daudi Mtanthiko-8 votes
4. Jabar Allide-7 votes
5. Masauko Medi-5 votes
6. Hubert Mfune-0 votes
7. Flora Mwandira-0 votes

This means that Mtelera, Gunda, Mtanthiko and Allide are now the new executive members of the FAM

The Maravi Post has over one billion views since its inception in December of 2009. Viewed in over 100 countries Follow US: Twitter @maravipost Facebook Page : maravipost Instagram: maravipost